New to ITANA? Lurker on the list?

· ITANA
Authors

Several people are new to ITANA and many of your are lurkers on the email list. Below is a quick FAQ on participating in ITANA.

Q: I want to get involved but don’t know where to start.

You can join the calls every-other week. They are open to all members. I send out the phone bridge information and the Adobe Connect session information prior to each call. Join in. We don’t bite.

Q: We haven’t solved ______ so I shouldn’t join in because all of you are much farther along than us.

That is what this group is all about. Some are a little farther along in some areas, most of us are stuck in more than one spot. By sharing our stories, our success, our frustrations our failures; we can learn from each other. I got great ideas when I took my “So now I have a Core Diagram, what do I do” question to the list. I was stuck. The hive mind brainstormed and now I have a way forward.

Q: I don’t know the answer but I have some thoughts, should I answer the email questions?

Yes. This is how we will help each other. If you have a minute, help your colleagues out. Put your answers and ideas out to the list. I believe in the bazaar. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Cathedral_and_the_Bazaar

Q: I don’t know how to get on the agenda for the calls?

I’ll send a call for agenda items each week. You can also send an email at any point in time to the list or to me. If it is a last minute thing, I ask for “Agenda Bash” items at the beginning of each call.

Q: What other ways are their to get involved?

There is a Face2Face meeting this year at EDUCAUSE along with two other EDUCAUSE sessions. The registration for the ITANA Face2Face 2011 is now open. You can register at http://www.educause.edu/E2011. There will also be an ITANA CG Lounge Discusion/Meet-Up Wednesday 2:30 to 3:20 PM and the ITANA CG Discussion Session 9:00AM to 9:50AM.

Q: Any thing else?

We also do Screen2Screen session on bigger topics. Watch the email list for dates and times. This are usually 60 to 90 minute long presentations on a given topic.

