Update October 06, 2006

· ITANA, News, Organizational
Authors

Hi All,

I will be at EDUCAUSE in Dallas next week. I hope to work out details on the organization while I’m there. If you’ll be at EDUCAUSE, I would love to meet and talk about ITANA. Post a message on the message board or send me an email if you want to get together. Maybe we can organize an ad hoc discussion (at some local establishment).

So far, we are still on track to have a two-part organization. Under Internet2, we are discussing a working group similar to MACE. The current discussion is for this group to be a peer with MACE not under MACE. We are working on a constituent group under EDUCAUSE.

I still have the same vision that the Internet2 working group would work on specific tasks and deliverables for the organization. The EDUCAUSE constituent group would act as outreach and communication especially to enterprises that: don’t have I.T. Architecture groups yet, are just starting to build an I.T. Architecture group and new I.T. Architects.

Also, there is now an email subscription box on the ITANA.ORG front page. If you enter your email address, you will get email messages whenever this site is updated.

Call for participation:

I would like to gather some materials on this site as background information. I would like to gather the following from the memebers:

* presentations on “what is I.T. Architecture” – I have already started a thread on this
* Job Descriptions / Position Descriptions for various “Architecture” positions
* Short writings from various campus administrators on what they see as the value of having an I.T. Architecture group

If you have something you would like to contribute, let me know by posting a comment below.

On deck for the future:

* A variety of “Roadmaps” that we have created with description of the tools used make the roadmap, what worked and didn’t work with the roadmap, a short description of how the roadmap was used

Do you have other suggestions for future activities? Post them below.

Thanks,

Jim

